News:

New website released (click MAIN SITE above)

F3A Braking

Started by DaveEast, 15, December 2010, 03:22:10 PM

« previous - next »

DaveEast

Just been watching Andrew Jesky talking about pattern flying and he mentions setting ESC braking, he was using a Castle Creations Phoenix Ice Lite 75 for this particular practice plane, how do you set it and which controllers do this??

Cheers Dave

Alan Wild

All the commonly-used ESCs for 2M F3A electric models offer braking.
I don't know anything about the braking with the YGE ESCs, but have used the older CC one (?85 HV was it called?), and the jeti 99 spin opto(which I believe is identical to the Hacker equivalent).
Both the CC and the jeti have several programmable features(percentage of braking, delay before coming on,interval between commence and final  brake effort, &c) and they share the need for the motor to be at effectively the lowest point on the Tx throttle setting, before the brake comes on.
I have no practical experience with the other (Schultze) ESC, but I think the brake can commence higher up the throttle setting on that one?
I think it's fair to say that the CC ESCs have had a few issues with the built-in programs (?firmware is it called?) for their braking.
Certainly I had a few weird "Switch-on shrieks" with the brake on an early firmware version that I tried, and a few instances of "loss of synch" with rapid throttling-up with some of the newer more powerful motor batteries----none of which has happened with the jeti.
Ironically, as the ESC braking has become more sophisticated, I think the need for it has dropped away to a large extent---a lot of the current 2M leccy models are quite draggy,relatively lightly loaded, and with the props in the 21" dia region(and the power available from the motors/batts), the downlines can be made slow enough without an ESC brake.

DaveEast

Alan
Cheers for the info, I did look at the CC website but it was not very clear.

Dave

Alan Wild