Author Topic: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2  (Read 1725 times)

Offline Mick Broad

  • GBRCAA Member
  • Intermediate Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Flying Class: Intermediate Pilot
  • Other Status: Intermediate Pilot
Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« on: 07, January 2018, 05:22:30 PM »
Hi All


I Maidened my composite caelus today but I don't seem to be getting much vertical performance the axi is new and I'm running and opto spin 99 the plane just didn't have performance it should have had I have my monolog which is much heavier with an axi 5225 and that has twice the vertical performance ,I am running a 20x13 wood fiela prop on 10s lipo


Can someone please confirm a recommended esc setting I'e pole settings etc


I have set it up via jetti box but I think pole count may be wrong although it ran fine, also what timing setting produce best power on this motor


Thanks in advance


Regards


Mick

Offline Alan Wild

  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #1 on: 07, January 2018, 06:05:50 PM »
Here's what I used for years with my version one:
Temp protect--100.C
Brake-manual setting
Dead time--0.2 secs
Initial brake--30%
End Brake---40%   (change to suit your model/flying style)
Brake speed--0.5 secs
Operation mode--aircraft
Timing---24 degrees
Frequency--8khz
Acceleration---0-100%--2secs
ACC type---lipo
Cut-off volts per cell----2.0V  (personal choice only---usual is 3.0V I believe)
Off Voltage set----19.96V       (as above)
Cut Off---slow down
Fixed throttle end points
Initial point---1.00msec   (Use the jeti box connected to the Rx throttle channel to find the lowest point on the Tx throtttle output (with the trim at the neutral point), that gives 1.00 msecs (on JR TXs this is around140% on the low end)
The motor will not arm at this setting---to get the arming setting, increase the downward travel one point at a time, until you hear the arming beep.
End point---1.9 msecs (this will be around 100%  upward travel on most Txs.)
Auto end point---ON from 1.90msecs
Throttle curve---Linear (Use the Throttle Curve(s) on the Tx.
Rotation ---Left ,or right, to get the prop going the correct way ,of course!
Timing Monitor---Off
Setting thro' RC--OFF


With regard to pole count, this will not affect the running; just gives the wrong rpm reading if wrong.


With regard to today---it was very cold---could this have affected the motor batteries, and hence the power?




Offline Mick Broad

  • GBRCAA Member
  • Intermediate Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Flying Class: Intermediate Pilot
  • Other Status: Intermediate Pilot
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #2 on: 07, January 2018, 06:21:57 PM »
Hi Alan


That's some quality information I guess the cold could well have been a factor ,you settings look similar to mine but I will try yours and see if there's any improvement


Thank you for quick reply


Regards


Mick

Offline Mike Wood

  • GBRCAA Member
  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,408
  • F3A Precision Aerobatics
  • Flying Class: FAI Pilot (P)
  • Other Status: FAI Pilot (P)
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #3 on: 07, January 2018, 06:29:20 PM »
Here's OptiPower's advice on temperatures.

http://www.gbrcaa.org/smf/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=4316.0;attach=7285

(It has been posted before but always good to have a reminder  :)  )

m

Offline Mark Allen

  • GBRCAA Member
  • Intermediate Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 59
  • Flying Class: Intermediate Pilot
  • Other Status: None
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #4 on: 07, January 2018, 06:29:49 PM »
Hi Mick,
I have the v1 5530/F3A In my vanquish and run the same settings as Alan has provided. You definately have something wrong as I had to lower my throttle  curve to tame the power! Vertical power was never a problem.


Mark

Online Stuart Mellor

  • GBRCAA Member
  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,238
  • Flying Class: None
  • Other Status: None
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #5 on: 07, January 2018, 07:51:48 PM »


Agree - something wrong. Axi F3a Mk 1 & 2 powerful motors. What rpm are you getting? 20x13 is not a big load.
Same on other battery(s)?

« Last Edit: 07, January 2018, 07:54:09 PM by Stuart Mellor »

Offline Mick Broad

  • GBRCAA Member
  • Intermediate Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Flying Class: Intermediate Pilot
  • Other Status: Intermediate Pilot
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #6 on: 07, January 2018, 08:54:35 PM »
Hi guys I only had the one flight as I wanted to look into the power issue first I will do some more test next weekend. 


Thanks


I will check the tx settings in relation to the esc in case I have missed something silly and will set esc as above and take it from there


Mick

Online Stuart Mellor

  • GBRCAA Member
  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,238
  • Flying Class: None
  • Other Status: None
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #7 on: 07, January 2018, 08:59:29 PM »
Just wondering if the battery was duff. Rpm check with a 'warm' battery would prove it.

Offline Mick Broad

  • GBRCAA Member
  • Intermediate Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Flying Class: Intermediate Pilot
  • Other Status: Intermediate Pilot
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #8 on: 07, January 2018, 09:31:11 PM »
Hi
Lipo checks out fine but I will try another pair next weekend to confirm


Regards
Mick

Offline Alan Wild

  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #9 on: 07, January 2018, 10:17:48 PM »
Re the throttle settings as above, using the end points as 1,00 msec low, and 1.9 msec high, gives about the widest possible resolution available from most trannies---but the low point is very near the maximum "bottom travel" that the Tx can provide.
In particular, it may not be possible to have  a throttle cut setting, if you want one as a safety feature, for example.


So, if you set the fixed low end point at 1.1 msec instead, it leaves enough low travel adjust (or AFR,etc.,
whatever your Tx calls it), to have a throttle cut.

Offline Bill Michie

  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 730
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #10 on: 08, January 2018, 11:38:52 AM »
Hi Mick. From what Alan says, sounds most likely you haven't got the end Points set to get the most out of the ESC. (100/100% won't do it!). Have a look & see. Alan's figures worked very well for me!
Regards,

Bill

Offline Peter Jenkins

  • GBRCAA Member
  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 812
  • Flying Class: FAI Pilot (P)
  • Other Status: FAI Pilot (P)
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #11 on: 08, January 2018, 11:04:16 PM »
I have to say that I just used the ACRO Outrunner setting and everything worked fine with my AXi 5330 F3A.  As Mark says, there was way too much power on the vertical so I just never used full throttle. 


Peter

Offline Mick Broad

  • GBRCAA Member
  • Intermediate Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Flying Class: Intermediate Pilot
  • Other Status: Intermediate Pilot
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #12 on: 09, January 2018, 07:08:16 AM »
Hi all


Just quick update ,I put the recommended settings in via jetti box and from the display the jetti box it says I'm getting about 5000 rpm at 37 amps I think I should get about 8000 rpm at 80amps.i am away for few days but I am going to wipe it all and start again, I may even program via tx instead of jetti box as I'm trying to eliminate the box in case the issue is there. I'm sure I'm missing something but will be weekend before I can look at it again thanks again for your advice


Regards


Mick

Offline Mick Broad

  • GBRCAA Member
  • Intermediate Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 50
  • Flying Class: Intermediate Pilot
  • Other Status: Intermediate Pilot
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #13 on: 15, January 2018, 12:17:42 AM »
Hi all


I am still unable to sort this esc it's driving me mad I did servo test and all appears to be correct I'm sure this is a tx issue but I even tried an orange module and spectrum rx different but not better still only pulling 40 amps and about 5000 rpm. Is there any esc experts who can give me a helping hand I live in Harlow and am quite happy to travel to get this sorted I want to start practicing the intermediate schedule but I need to trim model etc but obviously motor needs sorting first.
My next option is different esc but really wanted to use spinn99 for the brake options


Mick

Offline Alan Wild

  • FAI Class Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
Re: Axi motor 5330 f3a v2
« Reply #14 on: 15, January 2018, 07:49:48 AM »
Mick, I've sent you a P.M.


Alan.